Blacksmith and Locksmith Museum
the old compressor house of the former mining plant Griesborn today houses a Blacksmith and Locksmith Museum. Dating back to the 18th century, the building was used as a compressor house until the mine was shut down in 1950. It is an important representation of industrial architecture from the dawn of mining operations in the Saar region. In the early 1990s, the former compressor house was renovated and transformed into a Blacksmith and Locksmith Museum by the Saarland Metalworkers Guild. Inside and around the museum, visitors can find numerous historical machines and tools, such as, for example, an old smith%u2019s hearth with a pair of bellows, anvils, bending roller machines, forging hammers, and much more. In part, the items on display are hand-operated machines from the 18th and 19th centuries which are all still fully operational today. Other parts of the museum (especially the area outside) show bigger (sometimes much bigger) tools and metal working machines.