Historic Copper Mine in Düppenweiler
founded by the Walloon Remacle de Hauzeur in the early 18th century, the Düppenweiler copper mine employed up to 300 miners. It was under the direction of the Dillingen steelworks (Dillinger Hütte) from 1824 to 1828. In 1916, the copper mine had to be closed because the lower and most profitable levels could no longer be reached. In 1992, a development association assumed sponsorship and it was decided to transform the one-time copper mine into a mining museum with exhibition mine. Today, visitors can go on a surface tour, without guides, or they can explore the underground on a one-hour guided tour, complete with hardhat and protective gear. Among the many interesting things to discover are, for example, a wood frame system with a German timber set (frame which supports the roof and the sides of a mine shaft) and a Polish timber set (supports only the roof), original Dillinger Hütte production blastings, a drowned staple shaft, mining galleries, explosive drillings, etc.